Interview with new author Jackson Baer – The Earth Bleeds Red

Hi Jackson!

Great to have the chance to interview you today.

Image

I keep hearing about your new novel… The Earth Bleeds Red

Can you give everyone an overview of the story?

Scott and Jessie are a couple in love. Ashley, their only daughter, is 17-years old and has vanished; leaving behind nothing but a pool of blood. Her strange disappearance is quickly thought to be a homicide. Her cozy, northwest town is stunned when police find the body of another girl at the bottom of the Willamette River. The eerie signature found on the girl links to a monster dubbed the Hail Mary Killer. While Scott searches for Ashley, the FBI feels convinced that she is the killer’s latest victim.

In spite of three other bodies with the same distinct marking, no one prepared themselves for the discovery in southern Oregon. Local hikers stumble upon a car in the mountain brush and a tattooing needle with an evil history surfaces inside. A cabin appears nearby with another gruesome discovery. Scott finds some solace in his friendship with Father Henry as he and Jessie try to salvage their marriage and move on beyond the loss of Ashley. The FBI finally catches a break when they unearth the dark past of the Hail Mary Killer’s family. What emerged in his basement is more terrifying than anyone could have possibly imagined.

What happens to the Miller family and Father Henry will shake your soul and keep you reading till the last page.

It sounds like a great read -when is it due to be released?

It will be out around late October (2013).

Image

 1. What made you want to write this book?

 I can’t explain exactly why I wanted to write this book except that I had to write this book. The idea popped into my head one day for the title: The Earth Bleeds Red. Then, I sat down and began to write. It simply came out as the most natural thing I’ve ever written or done for that matter.

The Earth Bleeds Red promo video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rtJGQR89cc

Jackson’s Book Giveaway For The Earth Bleeds Red on Goodreads

Win a * SIGNED COPY * AUTOGRAPHED BOOK *

http://www.goodreads.com/giveaway/show/66319-the-earth-bleeds-red

2. Apart from writing, what are your other interests?

I enjoy sports, playing guitar, spending time with my family, going to the park, reading, and travelling.

3. If you could only keep three books on your shelf- what would they be?

Them by Joyce Carol Oates, Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston, and The Shack by William P. Young.

4. What is your favourite quote?

“Love your enemies.” Jesus

5. Do you have any pets?

Yes! We have a pug named Lilo. She only has one eye and we love her  🙂

6. If you had a week left on Earth before you left to go to another planet- how would you spend it?

Playing with my kids, holding my wife’s hand, and seeing my family as much as possible. Hopefully, we could do all those things near the ocean too.

7. What sports are you into?

I’m a big baseball fan as well as basketball and football. I like to play basketball though I’m not nearly as mobile as I used to be.

8. Do you have another book planned or any other writing projects?

I’m more than halfway finished with a psychological thriller called, “The Lights Will Never Fade.”

 Image

I’m originally from Woodstock, Ga; north of Atlanta. I’m a huge Braves and Georgia Tech fan. I’ve lived in Oregon for the past 5+ years now and love the Trailblazers as well as Oregon State, where I will graduate with a B.A. in English in June 2014. I’ve been married for 10 years and we have 4 beautiful children together, aged 3-9. We are moving back to Georgia to settle our family next to family.

I graduated from a Bible college in 2003 and that is where I met my wife. I spent 7 years as a youth & teaching pastor but have not been a pastor for the past 2 years now. I’m not very religious though you will find spiritual themes within my writing due to it being such a large part of the majority of my life. My characters, much like myself, struggle with faith, doubt, and love as a part of their everyday lives. The novel is by no means a Christian novel, however, with language you’d find in real life as well as situations not suited for a church service.

My favorite author is Joyce Carol Oates and I also love Junot Diaz and Sherman Alexie, among many others. Their novels have influenced me the most and I’d like to think my writing style resembles their amazing books. Them” by Joyce Carol Oates is the best book I’ve ever read and if you’ve never read it, stop what you’re doing right now and read it. Seriously, do it now.

 

You can connect with me here:

www.JacksonPaulBaer.com

www.facebook.com/JacksonPaulBaer

www.twitter.com/JacksonPaulBaer

www.goodreads.com/JacksonPaulBaer

Image

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Interview with new author Jackson Baer – The Earth Bleeds Red

  1. Pingback: William’s O’Brien’s Interview of Jackson Paul Baer | Jackson Paul Baer

Leave a Reply

